Thu, Jul
241 New Articles


HIGH SPRINGS – The High Springs City Commission has set the date of Nov. 3 for the City’s 2020 municipal election. The two commission seats expiring this year are Seat #1, currently occupied by Commissioner Nancy Lavin, and Seat #2, presently held by Vice-Mayor Gloria James.

Resolution 2020-C sets the qualifying period to begin during business hours on Monday, July 20 and ending at the close of business on Thursday, July 23, 2020.

Any High Springs citizen who is registered to vote may run for a Commission seat by filing the necessary qualifying papers provided in Florida Statutes with the High Springs City Clerk’s office during the qualifying period.

Candidates must file a Statement of Financial Interests Form, notarized Loyalty Oath/ Oath of Candidate, Affidavit of Residency and pay the qualifying fee or file a waiver (Affidavit of Undue Burden). They must also submit an Appointment of Campaign Treasurer and Designation of Depository and Statement of Candidate forms.

An appointment of Campaign Treasurer and Designation of Campaign Depository form must be filed before opening a campaign account. Candidates may submit the form at any time during the qualifying period. The filing of this form triggers the requirement to file the treasurer's reports. Candidates may not collect or spend money on their campaign until after submitting this form.

The qualifying fee for running for City Commissioner is $108, which is one percent of the $10,800 salary of the office sought.

Questions may be directed to the City Clerk’s Office at High Springs City Hall.

#     #     #

Email cwalker@